Dates: 12.06.2020 – 04.07.2020

The 2020 UEFA European Football Championship, commonly referred to as UEFA Euro 2020 or simply Euro 2020, is scheduled to be the 16th UEFA European Championship, the quadrennial international men’s football championship of Europe organised by UEFA.

The tournament is scheduled to be held in 12 cities in 12 UEFA countries from 12 June to 12 July 2020. Portugal are the defending champions, having won the 2016 edition. For the first time, the video assistant referee (VAR) system will be used at the UEFA European Championship.

Former UEFA President Michel Platini said the tournament is being hosted in several nations as a “romantic” one-off event to celebrate the 60th “birthday” of the European Championship competition. Having the largest capacity of any of the stadiums entered for the competition, Wembley Stadium in London will host the semi-finals and final for the second time, having done so before at the 1996 tournament in its former incarnation. The Stadio Olimpico in Rome will host the opening game, involving Turkey and hosts Italy.

Baku Olympic Stadium, home of the Azeri national team, was built in February 2015 and will be held EURO 2020’s Group A games between 13th June – 21th June and also a quarter final on the 4th of July.

The stadium has seats up to 70,000 and hosted the Europa League Final in 2019 between Arsenal and Chelsea. It is a part of the Olympic Village complex.